Home > What is Kirsten's Legacy?
What is Kirsten's Legacy?
Kirsten's Story
Our Mission
Share Your Story

Our Mission

The mission of Kirsten’s Legacy is to provide much needed resources to researchers, clinicians, patients and their families. Together, we are working to cure ACC by identifying new therapies and advancing those discoveries, as quickly as possible, to clinical trials, so patients can benefit today.

Additionally, our goal is to educate the ACC community and continue a growing momentum in ACC research.

Our Team

The core members of TGen's ACC research team include nearly two-dozen faculty and staff, led by Drs. Michael Demeure and Kimberly Bussey, with the full support of institutional leadership — listed below.

TGen Leadership

Jeff Trent

Jeffrey M. Trent, Ph.D., FACMG
TGen President and Research Director

Jeff Trent

Daniel Von Hoff, M.D., FACP
Physician-in-Chief and Distinguished Professor

ACC Research Faculty and Staff

Jeff Trent

Michael J. Demeure, M.D., MBA
Surgical Oncologist
Director and Clinical Professor of the Rare Cancer Unit, Rare Cancer Program

Jeff Trent

Kimberly Bussey, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor and Head
Adrenocortical Carcinoma (ACC) Unit, Rare Cancer Program

Kaiti Schwartz, B.S.
Research Associate
Adrenocortical Carcinoma (ACC) Unit, Rare Cancer Program

Collaborating Faculty and Staff

Michael Barrett, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Genomic Analysis

John Carpten, Ph.D.
Director and Professor
Integrated Cancer Genomics Division

David Craig, Ph.D.
Associate Director and Associate Professor
Neurogenomics Division

Stephen Gately, Ph.D.
President and Chief Scientific Officer
TGen Drug Development (TD2)

Paul Gonzales, Director
Non-clinical Operations
TGen Drug Development (TD2)

Seungchan Kim, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Head
Biocomputing Unit

Christophe Legendre
Collaborative Center for Bioinformatics

Winnie Liang, PhD
Assistant Professor and Assistant Director
Collaborative Sequencing Center

Bodour Salhia, Ph.D.
Post-Doc Fellow
Integrated Cancer Genomics Division

Waibhav Tembe, Ph.D.
Collaborative Bioinformatics Center